Quick access

Frequently asked questions about the Microsoft cloud

For Employees Last updated: 01. 10. 2026

What is OneDrive for Business?

OneDrive for Business is private digital cloud storage and part of Microsoft 365. You can access it in a web browser or directly from Office apps, and you can also sync it with your computer.

What is the difference between OneDrive and OneDrive for Business?

As the names suggest, the two services are similar. Both provide digital storage, but OneDrive is intended for the general public, while OneDrive for Business is provided by Alma Mater as part of Microsoft 365.

Can other users see my files?

By default, all documents in OneDrive for Business are private and available only to you. You can, however, share individual documents or folders with others.

How can I access OneDrive for Business?

There are two options. You can go to https://login.microsoftonline.com/?whr=almamater.si and access your documents in a web browser.

Alternatively, you can access your documents from the Office apps: first sign in with your Alma Mater digital identity, and OneDrive for Business will then be available as a location for opening and saving documents.

How long are my files kept?

Files are kept from the moment you save them to OneDrive for Business until you delete them from the folder and then from the recycle bin. After that, they remain in the second-stage recycle bin for another 30 days and are then permanently deleted.

How do I share files with other users?

You can find instructions at https://support.office.com/en-us/onedrive.

How can I check who my OneDrive files are shared with?

You can find more information at this link.

How do I run a OneDrive sharing report?

Instructions for preparing the report and for changing access to shared files and folders are available here: Kako zaženem OneDrive poročilo o skupni rabi.pdf (in Slovenian)

Can I restore files I have deleted?

Yes. Deleted documents stay in the recycle bin for 30 days after you delete them.

Can I sync only certain folders with OneDrive?

Yes.

What happens to my files when my student status expires?

You have 30 days after your status expires to make a copy of your data in the service. After that, the data is marked for deletion and you can no longer access it. You are responsible for backing up your data in OneDrive for Business.

What happens to shared files if I lose my status?

If you shared files and you lose access to the service, the shared data is deleted and no one can access it any more.

If someone else shared files with you and you lose access to the service, the owner of the file will still have access to it. You can still access the file through the link in the email.

What happens to my data in Microsoft 365?

You can find more information here.

Was this article helpful? Thanks for your feedback!

Can't find an answer?

Have a question or issue? Submit a form and we'll get back to you as soon as possible.

Report an issue